My Thought Scramble

A jumble of daydreams and ideas

When It’s All Said and Done

5 Comments

I can’t believe I’m already at the end. It’s surreal. It’s unbelievable. It’s bittersweet. Just hours until I journey home. This has been some of the best months of my life and I am so thankful to have experienced it all. I created a part of my life in this city! Now we have to pack up and move back to reality. Too much moving and shaking for me.

I don’t know how to put it all into words. In one semester, I’ve made new friends and travel buddies who explored the other side of the world with me, I interned at an awesome PR/communications agency and I got to live in one of the coolest cities in the world. I have so many memories to keep with me forever.

Study abroad taught me so much about myself. I lived more and worried less that is for sure. I didn’t waste time harping on my body; I ate, I drank, I soaked everything in. I lived out of a backpack, slept in a hostel, navigated four of the six Australian states, made friends with strangers, stepped out of my comfort zone, and so much more.

I loved every minute in Australia. From my BU roomies to the beautiful beaches, I’m going to miss every minute that I’m not here. It’s been a semester-long vacation. Yes, I can’t wait to be home, see my family, sleep in my own bed – all that good stuff, but, It’s hard to leave a place I fell in love with, even if I have a feeling I’ll be back.

The crazy amazing people I have met:

If you’re nervous about traveling abroad, you know you are making the right decision. I took a big leap and I fell in love. I can’t stop wanting to type “I’ll miss it here, I’ll miss it here” over and over.

It has been an easier way of life here: a balance between work and play, a more relaxed working environment, and a love for travel (more Aussies seem to travel outside of their own country without having even travelled their own! sounds like me…). Now it’s time to prepare for winter, American currency and driving on the right side of the road.  If there’s one thing I want to leave behind in this country, it’s my stress!

I might not come back with an awesome tan or an Aussie accent, but I’m returning with a love of life and a passion for travel. I will miss Australia so much. But don’t think this means I am going to stop blogging, I found a love for that, too. Get ready, USA, cause I’m road tripping you next!

— Madison

5 thoughts on “When It’s All Said and Done

  1. Madison! I love and appreciate your passion and zest!

    I am far from the Irish decent, but this came to mind….

    May the road rise to meet you,
    May the wind be always at your back,
    May the sun shine warm upon your face,
    The rains fall soft upon your fields and,
    Until we meet again,
    May God hold you in the palm of His hand.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Your words leave me speechless and teary-eyed for imagining such a momentous time in your life. How very blessed you are; I know you know that!
    A bit of jealousy rises in me…however, I pseudo-lived it via your blogging! Keep sharing and living with such passion and LOVE! And LOVE is what your Reading family longs to shower on you…as you continue to spread your wings!
    Blessings and Health always!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. SO glad that you’re going to keep blogging because your blog was my favorite to read (shhh don’t tell anyone). Also s/o to me for making into 3 of the 11 pictures! Miss you and the land of kangaroos and TimTams so much already!!

    Like

  4. Pingback: The Final Chapter | Becca Finds Nemo

Leave a comment